[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Warning on repository version upgrade

From: Andy Levy <andy.levy_at_gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 2 May 2008 11:21:26 -0400

On Fri, May 2, 2008 at 10:57 AM, Yurik <yuriastrakhan_at_gmail.com> wrote:
>
> Please add a warning when changing the structure of the checkout
> directory to the newer version.
>
> In our team, some of us has already migrated to the bleeding edge of
> the TortoiseSVN, while other machines for stability and compatibility
> reasons have to remain a bit behind. Unfortunately, sometimes we do an
> update on the checkout dir on a remote share, and TortoiseSVN silently
> upgrades it, causing numerous problems as there is no easy way to
> downgrade it back.
>
> Please warn the user of the upgrade and allow them to cancel it.

Cancel the upgrade, or cancel the operation altogether?

This (the upgrade of the WC) really is the domain of the SVN
libraries, not TSVN itself. I don't know that SVN allows for a newer
client to use an older format; usually there's a reason for updating
the format which is required by the client for proper operation.

Or, stop doing the updates remotely, and instead only do them from the
machine local to that WC.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-05-02 17:21:48 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.