[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Inadvertently deleted a folder

From: Sohail Somani <sohail_at_taggedtype.net>
Date: Mon, 17 Mar 2008 06:18:21 +0000 (UTC)

On Tue, 11 Mar 2008 18:43:12 +1030, Tigger wrote:

> I just committed quite a large update. I glanced over the change list
> and all looked fine, then clicked ok and went for a coffee.
>
> I came back to see that the commit had changed its mind, and instead of
> doing all the shown updates, it was deleting the folder they were all
> countained in!!!!

Hi,

Two things:
 1) You should never have a large update save for merges - This allows
you to screw up and never lose too much work.
 2) You can always undo deletes

So what you should do in this case is svn merge -c -
THE_REVISION_WHICH_DELETED_EVERYTHING (note the minus in front of the
revision argument) and then svn commit. Then do your update again.

Good luck. Sometimes these things are a good but painful way to learn.
Except for personal stupidity deleting actual repositories (on toy
projects!) without backups, I've never lost more than a couple of hours
of work.

-- 
Sohail Somani
http://uint32t.blogspot.com
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on 2008-03-17 07:18:38 CET

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.