[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [Subclipse-users] subclipse reverts on undo

From: Bernhard Fröhler <bernhard.froehler_at_gmx.at>
Date: Thu, 19 Jun 2008 11:55:34 +0200

Thanks for the quick reply! Sounds logical that the move is done by
eclipse - Now I'v tried again I see in the log that there really are
add/delete command executed, and not revert ones. I'll try my luck with
the Eclipse configuration/ help.
Sorry for bothering you with this.

Thanks,
Bernhard

Mark Phippard schrieb:
> I do not believe we have any code that does this specifically. If you
> do an undo, and the Eclipse undo moves files, then yes Eclipse is
> going to send that through as move events. There is no way to my
> knowledge to know it any differently.
>
> Subclipse responds to events sent to us by Eclipse. We do not have a
> hook for Undo (I do not think one even exists). But if the Eclipse
> undo moves files around, etc. then it just looks like that is what you
> did to us.
>
> If you disagree, I think you should simplify your problem description
> and perhaps include a specific but concise reproduction recipe.
>
> Thanks
>
> Mark
>
> On Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 9:57 PM, Bernhard Fröhler
> <bernhard.froehler_at_gmx.at> wrote:
>> Hi there,
>>
>> I just recently found out that subclipse has a "feature" of which I
>> can't see the sense (and which, at a few times now, has caused terrible
>> annoyance for me):
>> When any file is open in Eclipse from a subversion-managed project and I
>> press Ctrl+Z for Undo, subclipse sometimes seems to feel responsible for
>> the handling of this shortcut (from my experiments I'd say that happens
>> if no changes have been made since this editor was opened, or all such
>> changes already have been undone); the thing subclipse then does is that
>> it executes an svn revert command on added and/or moved files! I find
>> this extremely irritating, especially in combination with the fact that
>> subclipse always uses the "force" option of subversion. The result is,
>> that files which I recently moved or added, might simply get deleted by
>> a simple Ctrl+Z, which so far in Eclipse (and any other Application I
>> know of) was a safe way to switch to previous versions - meaning that
>> there's also the possibility to return to the latest version again via a
>> Redo function. But in the described case, there is no return, once
>> you've hit Ctrl+Z - because Re-Do obviously doesn't work anymore with
>> these operations!
>> It also seems that just the last svn operation is undone, which needs
>> not necessarily have anything to do with the file currently opened in
>> the editor; this is against common application behaviour too.
>>
>> I've searched the subclipse configuration & documentation and the
>> internet and, so far, haven't found any reference to this strange
>> behaviour (or if/how it can be turned off).
>>
>> I see this behaviour as a bug, since there is not even a question for
>> confirmation before irrevocable change is done; and in the "Quick
>> Reference for Command Line Users" there's this big red warning sign
>> about the revert operation being not undoable; strangely enough the only
>> way to revert which is mentioned there is via the Team->Revert menu
>> entry. So maybe the Undo->Revert connection is not intended anyway? Can
>> someone please clarify this?
>>
>> Yours sincerely,
>> Bernhard Fröhler
>>
>>
>> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
>> To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_subclipse.tigris.org
>> For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_subclipse.tigris.org
>>
>>
>
>
>

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_subclipse.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_subclipse.tigris.org
Received on 2008-06-19 11:55:53 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Users mailing list.