[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [Subclipse-users] Prevent Subclipse from DELETE'ing when using drag and drop

From: Mark Phippard <markphip_at_gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 9 Jun 2008 12:51:27 -0400

On Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 12:41 PM, Graham Anderson <grahama1970_at_gmail.com> wrote:
> Sometimes, when I drag and drop a binary file (from the desktop) over a
> pre-existing version of the same binary file, Subclipse shows a DELETE
> instead of a replace/modification icon.

When you drag and drop within Eclipse or Copy and Paste, Eclipse sends
the events through as a Delete + Add. So to us, it looks like you hit
the Delete key and we act accordingly. There has been a bug filed
with Eclipse for years. If you drag and drop from outside Eclipse
(such as Windows file explorer) into Eclipse then it works as
expected.

I just avoid doing this, or Revert when I forget. If you have certain
folders you always do this for, such as "lib" folder. You can set a
SVN property named "DeferFileDelete" with a value of "true" on the
property. If we see that property we do not do the delete.

> As delete will remove all previous versions of the binary file, how can I
> prevent this?

It does not actually completely delete it, but it does create a new
line of history so you cannot see the history. It is still there if
you look at this history of the parent folder.

-- 
Thanks
Mark Phippard
http://markphip.blogspot.com/
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_subclipse.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_subclipse.tigris.org
Received on 2008-06-09 18:51:39 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Users mailing list.