[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

[Subclipse-users] Re: Annoying dialog when doing 'update'

From: Hendrik Maryns <qwizv9b02_at_sneakemail.com>
Date: Fri, 30 May 2008 14:20:04 +0200

Mark Phippard schreef:
> On Fri, May 30, 2008 at 6:20 AM, Hendrik Maryns
> <qwizv9b02_at_sneakemail.com> wrote:
>> Eugene Kuleshov schreef:
>>> Mark Phippard wrote:
>>>> I do not think we can or should disable it. We could potentially have
>>>> 2 update options like TortoiseSVN has. I just thought that would be
>>>> worse. I have personally not been bothered by it. I like that I can
>>>> update to a specific revision,
>>> There is already option to switch to specific revision, why not just use
>>> it? I always update from synchronize view, but this new dialog look way too
>>> overloaded for an update action.
>>>
>>> Similarly, revision comparison action from History view show a dialog
>>> that allow to chose between visual comparison and generating a diff. Those
>>> really need to be 2 separate actions and visual comparison should just open
>>> comparison editor right away. Even for a diff, you don't really need to ask
>>> user to select revisions again, because they already have been selected.
>>>> and I like that it gives me an opportunity to Cancel, as sometimes I just
>>>> hit the wrong menu option.
>>> Wouldn't confirmation dialog make more sense for this? then you could
>>> have usual "don't show it again" checkbox.
>> Just wanted to add that I am annoyed by this also, and Eugene's suggestions
>> seem good.
>
> Eugene's only suggestion was to not use the dialog which is not good
> enough for me. There are only two options here. We implemented the
> one we think is best. The other option is to do what TortoiseSVN does
> and have two update options. The current update would go back to its
> old behavior and a new Update to revision ... option would be added,
> although that might not be the text.
>
> Being able to specify the revision or cancel the updates are nice side
> effects of having a dialog but the reason we have to have a dialog is
> to expose the new --depth option of Subversion 1.5.

I meant the suggestion of a ‘don’t show this again’ checkbox. I think a
lot of people will always want the old behavior. Then somewhere in the
preferences, one should be able to undo this preference again.

H.

-- 
Hendrik Maryns
http://tcl.sfs.uni-tuebingen.de/~hendrik/
==================
http://aouw.org
Ask smart questions, get good answers:
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Received on 2008-05-30 14:20:38 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Users mailing list.