[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [Subclipse-dev] [PATCH] conflict view update after save

From: Paul Lorenz <plorenz_at_gmail.com>
Date: 2006-01-27 19:35:41 CET

On 1/27/06, Mark Phippard <markp@softlanding.com> wrote:
> Paul Lorenz <plorenz@gmail.com> wrote on 01/27/2006 11:44:23 AM:
>

> > The second is that after doing a merge, the only way I can see to
> > find the files with conflicts is to look in the SVN Console. It would
> > be nice if these showed up in the Conflicts view in the synchronize
> > view. I'll take a look at this, though it may be more difficult :)
>
> We create Problem Markers for all files with conflicts. So they should
> show up in the Problems view. You might need to bring up the Filters
> option and be sure that the SVN Conflicts problems are showing. We then
> provide several options on Quick Fix to deal with the problem.
>

Ok, I missed that. We have a couple thousand warnings in our project
(working on cleaning them up, buts it's a slow process), so they were
easy to miss. I'm still going to look at having those show up in the
conflicts view, because they are conflicts, and it's (IMO) the natural
place to look for them :) Actually right now, I'm not sure how
anything ever shows up in the conflicts view for subclipse.

> > The last thing is when reverting a merge, I'm still running into
> > problems. I get an error that a given file isn't under version
> > control.
> >
> > revert -N
> /home/paul/workspace/foo-dev-svn/lib-dev/resin-3.0.14/.cvsignore
> > svn:
> '/home/paul/workspace/foo-dev-svn/lib-dev/resin-3.0.14/.cvsignore'
> > is not under version control
>
> Is it possible you are reverting the folder that contains this file at the
> same time? I have seen situations where it reverts the folder first
> (which reverts the files) and then tries to revert the file. In order to
> revert a file it has to either be versioned in your repository, or be a
> schedule add. In the case, of the latter, it goes from being a scheduled
> add to an unversioned file, not a deleted file.
>

I'm using the compressed folder view in Synchronize. So if you have a
merge which add a new directory and a new file in that directory, a
revert will apparently do as you say and revert first the dir and then
the file, which then fails, b/c the file has already been reverted.

This is also what causes my problem with the added files. The added
files left over after a revert sit under these directories. So if I
select all and do delete, it also deletes the directories (most of
which are versioned and contain other version files). The compressed
folders layout and subclipse don't play nicely :/

Paul

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subclipse.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subclipse.tigris.org
Received on Fri Jan 27 19:36:09 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Dev mailing list.