[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Canceling upgrade in svn_wc__wipe_postupgrade()

From: Philip Martin <philip.martin_at_wandisco.com>
Date: Fri, 22 Jul 2011 11:20:20 +0100

Philip Martin <philip.martin_at_wandisco.com> writes:

> The intention is that renaming the wc.db file makes the working copy a
> 1.7 working copy. At that stage running 'svn cleanup' will finish the
> upgrade.

There is a window between renaming the wc.db file and removing the 1.6
metadata by running the workqueue to completion. During this time the
working copy is a 1.7 working copy but the user could use a 1.6 client
on it.

Removing the 1.6 metadata takes time, I don't know if it is possible to
make it closer to 'atomic'. I think it would help if the workqueue
wrote the top level .svn/format file earlier, but that would not stop a
1.6 client operating on a subdir. I suppose the workqueue could even
write .svn/format files through the whole working copy, before removing
the .svn subdirs.

-- 
uberSVN: Apache Subversion Made Easy
http://www.uberSVN.com
Received on 2011-07-22 12:21:10 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.