[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

auto-upgrade of working copy

From: Alan Barrett <apb_at_cequrux.com>
Date: Thu, 1 Jul 2010 09:25:33 +0200

On Wed, 30 Jun 2010, Greg Stein wrote:
> Nope. Users cannot generally downgrade their client to run a cleanup.
> Historically, we have always auto-upgraded the working copies, even
> with stale logs in them.
>
> The 1.7 upgrade process is too invasive and time-consuming, so we
> decided to have a manual process ('svn upgrade'). But moving forward,
> the intent is to continue an auto-upgrade mechanism even with stale
> workqueues.

The auto-upgrade has always bothered me. I'd much prefer to have a
command line action (e.g. "svn upgrade") to upgrade the working copy,
and for the default behaviour to be that the client prints an error
message suggesting that the user should run "svn upgrade".

Many people use different clients in the same working copy (e.g. a
command line client and a GUI client), and it's a pain if one client
decides to upgrade the working copy to a format that the other client
doesn't support. This gets even worse when working copies are shared by
multiple users (which happens a lot more often than I would like).

--apb (Alan Barrett)
Received on 2010-07-01 09:30:29 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.