[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Locking UI comments

From: Ben Collins-Sussman <sussman_at_collab.net>
Date: 2004-10-13 23:10:02 CEST

On Oct 13, 2004, at 11:36 AM, Frank Compagner wrote:

> I would therefore very much
> prefer the default behaviour to be to replace the WC version of the
> file
> with the the server version, while renaming the old (changed) local
> copy
> to .mine.

I disagree. The ignorant user has already made their edits by
hijacking a read-only file: why are those edits shoehorned away into a
backup file when 'svn up' is run? If we did this, the user would just
be copying the backup file on top of the repos file anyway. If the
user is forced to choose between their own changes and someone else's,
and merging isn't an option, they'll almost always prefer their own.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Wed Oct 13 23:11:22 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.