[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: new dir in 2 working copies at the same time

From: solo turn <soloturn99_at_yahoo.com>
Date: 2002-09-13 13:33:52 CEST

the problem is the "svn up" on an object which i locally also added.
svn client should notice, that the server has my new object too, and
should know the status "A" in my working copy is not correct any
more. the correct status would be "modified" ... so a merge could be
necessary.

the delete case .... even if i think it does not matter at all, and
it is correct like this (also the revert is correct):
$ svn rm d
svn: Attempting restricted operation for modified resource
svn: Use --force to override this restriction
svn: 'd' has local modifications
$ svn rm --force d
D d
$ svn ci -m ""
$ svn up
A d
Updated to revision 118.

solo turn <soloturn99@yahoo.com> writes:
> p1: svn add d
> p2: svn add d
> p1: svn ci -m ""
> p2:
> $ svn up
> svn: Obstructed update
> svn: failed to add directory 'd': object of the same name already
> exists
> $ svn revert d
> Reverted d
> $ svn up
> svn: Obstructed update
> svn: failed to add directory 'd': object of the same name already
> exists
>
> would the best solution be that a standard merge occurs, even if
the
> status is "A - added"?

What happens if the 'svn revert' above is changed to 'svn rm'?

(Or are they supposed to have the same effect for an added object? I
seem to remember some issue about this...).

-K

__________________________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! News - Today's headlines
http://news.yahoo.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Fri Sep 13 13:34:32 2002

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.