[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: How does SVN keep track of what repo it has checked out?

From: Ryan Schmidt <subversion-2011a_at_ryandesign.com>
Date: Sat, 9 Apr 2011 23:28:37 -0500

On Apr 9, 2011, at 22:40, richardcavell_at_mail.com wrote:

> I realize that my working copy has a .svn directory with information in it that SVN uses. In the book, it says on page 19 (page 41 of the pdf):
>
> "If you accidentally remove the .svn subdirectory, the easiest way to fix the problem is to remove the entire containing dir- ectory (a normal system deletion, not svn delete), then run svn update from a parent directory. The Subversion client will download the directory you've deleted, with a new .svn area as well."
>
> Now, if you've removed the .svn directory, how does svn 'know' which repo you're using?

It will consult the .svn directory in the parent directory, which, for the above advice to work, would have to be part of the same working copy.

> Does SVN store information somewhere else?

Nope, each working copy is self-contained.

> I had a repo checked out and I wanted to un-checkout it - that is to say, stop using that repo. I was told that the simplest way would be to just delete the .svn directory. Is it acceptable to do this?

Sure, if you want to keep using the directory but have it no longer connected with the repository, then delete the .svn directories, or run "svn export" to a new directory and then delete the working copy, which has the same effect. Or if you're done with the directory completely, just delete the working copy.

> Or have I left debris on my system by doing so?

Nope.

The working copy format will completely change in Subversion 1.7 so the above may no longer apply then.
Received on 2011-04-10 06:29:21 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.