[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

RE: Automatic upgrade of wc format annoying on shared drives

From: Jeremy Mordkoff <jlm_at_ZeeVee.Com>
Date: Mon, 12 Apr 2010 21:56:29 -0400

I second that. I support fedora 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 (and soon 12), various ubuntu releases, plus windows XP, Vista, and Win7, and Mac OS 10.4, 10.5. When one of them upgrades, it causes me to scramble to build and deploy upgrades to the others.

JLM

-----Original Message-----
From: Simon [mailto:tzueskj268_at_snkmail.com]
Sent: Mon 4/12/2010 9:17 PM
To: users_at_subversion.apache.org
Subject: Automatic upgrade of wc format annoying on shared drives
 
We have work directories shared between many physical machines here (via sshfs, nfs, etc). We also use subversion as our configuration management system for source files.

When a newer client ends up on on of the work machines, it automatically (and silently) upgrades the wc metadata format of any working copies it touches. This prevents future access of any of the other clients until the working copies are manually downgraded (such as via: http://subversion.apache.org/faq.html#working-copy-format-change ).

This is quite annoying.

I think correct behaviour here is that the client should at least prompt the user to ask if it should upgrade the wc metadata format before messing with the working copy.

Failing that, is there some way of locking a working copy to a particular version of the wc metadata format.

Regards,

Simon
Received on 2010-04-13 03:59:46 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.