[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: recovering the lost svn history on deleting files and adding them at a new location on the same svn server

From: Andy Levy <andy.levy_at_gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 14 Oct 2008 15:25:20 -0400

On Tue, Oct 14, 2008 at 15:03, abhishek vaidya
<abhishek_vaidya_1982_at_yahoo.co.in> wrote:
> Hi All,
> Some time back i deleted the files in a svn folder say X and then
> added these files to a folder X.Y (Y is newly created). Later i realized
> that i have lost the history of these files of the period before this change
> was done. How can i merge the previous history of these files with the
> history after this change?

When you "re-added" them, Subversion considered them new objects
altogether, so they have their own history.

You can copy from an older revision to the new location, which will
preserve the history. Or perform a "reverse merge" to "undelete" the
files, then svn mv them to the correct (new) location.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe_at_subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help_at_subversion.tigris.org
Received on 2008-10-14 21:25:49 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.