[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

OS deletes and repo commits

From: Alan McDonald <alan_at_meta.com.au>
Date: 2006-11-15 12:22:21 CET

When a user deletes a file via the operating system file delete, the svn
database is not informed of this deletion. If the user uses the
TortoiseSVN|Delete option, the svn database IS synch'd with this deletion.
Is there a way for a user to update their svn database (of their working
copy) of the state of the files in their file system with their working copy
without doing a commit or update?

I have a particular issue with people swapping between detailed view and
thumbnail view in their file system. It seems that this process deletes
thumbnails (when switching to details) and if they do not commit these
deletions before switching back and re-creating the thumbs.db files, there
is an annoying error in trying to add a file to the repo which already
exists. My auto update then commit script does not bring the repo version
othe thumbs.db file back to the working copy because the working copy
database thinks it's already present, when it's not, but DOES think that the
newly created thumbs.db file is a new addition instead of an update of an
existing file. I thought at first it was a case problem but the OS (WinXP)
always uses teh same case Thumbs.db for the file.

 regards
 Alan McDonald

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Wed Nov 15 12:23:11 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.