[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Problem with multiple users moving and updating files

From: Ryan Schmidt <subversion-2006q2_at_ryandesign.com>
Date: 2006-05-25 16:48:23 CEST

On May 25, 2006, at 15:44, Jim Sheldon wrote:

> I have encountered a problem at work where we user subversion for our
> software projects. The problem arises when the following occurs:
>
> 1. file1.txt is moved/renamed (using subversion commands, not the
> local filesystem) on system A to file2.txt.
>
> 2. System B then makes changes to file1.txt and commits them.
>
> 3. System A runs 'svn update' before commiting its changes. file1.txt
> is retreived from the server with modifications from System B.
>
> At this point users of both System A and B have to communicate to
> merge their changes into file2.txt.
>
> My question is, shouldn't subversion be smart enough to know that when
> the user on System A runs 'svn update', file1.txt should not be
> downloaded, the user should be warned that a modification was made to
> file1.txt after it was moved file2.txt, but before the move was
> committed to the repository?
>
> I hope this makes sense. If this is a known problem, I was unable to
> find anything relating to it in the manual, or in various google
> searches.

Yes, Subversion should be smart enough to handle this. Yes, it's
known and being worked on. Looks like it's being considered for
Subversion 1.5:

http://subversion.tigris.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=898

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Thu May 25 16:49:34 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.