[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Forever deleting something from repo

From: Alex R. Mosteo <alejandro_at_mosteo.com>
Date: 2004-11-04 09:22:24 CET

Ben Collins-Sussman wrote:
>
> On Nov 3, 2004, at 9:13 AM, Martin Struwe wrote:
>
>> Ben Collins-Sussman wrote, On 03.11.2004 04:25:
>>
>>> On Nov 2, 2004, at 9:00 AM, Alex R. Mosteo wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi,
>>>>
>>>> I see a FAQ entry about some future "svnadmin obliterate". It says
>>>> it's a post-1.0 feature. Since I don't see any hint to this in the
>>>> roadmap, I want to ask: has this been totally put aside? Or is still
>>>> somewhere [estimation?] down the road?
>>>
>>> It's not scheduled yet, but still a long-term goal. See issue 516.
>>
>>
>> If I have a password in my repository, I need a Solution now
>> for 1.0.9.
>> Can I move the the old Version in a protected Subdirectory, so
>> that nobody can view the wrong commit?
>>
>
> Use 'svnadmin dump', 'svndumpfilter', and 'svnadmin load' to rebuild a
> new repository. The book discusses this in chapter 5. That's the only
> way to make history disappear.

If you have read my other post about a 'broken pipe', you'll know that
for some reason svndumpfilter dies when trying to exclude a particular
folder tree from my (big) repo. (Oddly, if I only *keep* that folder, it
works. That suggest the problem is out of that folder).

So, I'm alone here? No solution or workaround?

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Thu Nov 4 09:20:45 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Users mailing list.