[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Feature Request: Add an exportable merge report and/or a warning screen after a merge

From: <AKaplan_at_princeton.com>
Date: Tue, 19 Aug 2008 14:31:29 -0400

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing to request a feature for the next version of the SVN client.
I currently use the 1.5.2 version of the client, and I noticed a potential
hazard that developers might encounter during a merge (esp. from trunk to
a feature branch). I found that if a file was added as a part of a merge,
and the user cancelled and reverted the merge changes, the added file will
sit on the user's working copy. When the user tries to merge again, all
changes related to this added file will be skipped. If a merge is big,
it's possible that the user won't notice that this file was skipped.

I propose that one or both of the following changes should be implemented:
1. A warning screen should pop up in the case were a portion of a merge is
skipped. That way, users will be able to track these skipped elements,
and manually make changes as needed.
2. Users should be able to export the messages received from the merge
dialog to a text file (ideally CSV). Currently, if a user hits the OK
button, the dialog goes away, and the user can easily lose track of what
happened during the merge.

Please consider these features for future development. Thank you.

Best,

Adam Kaplan
Associate
Princeton Consultants
2 Research Way
Princeton, NJ 08540
609.987.8787 x313
Received on 2008-08-19 20:33:19 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.