[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [TSVN_U] Cannot replace a directory from within

From: Matthias Wächter <matthias.waechter_at_tttech.com>
Date: 2005-10-11 22:58:32 CEST

Stefan Küng schrieb:
>> 2. Side note: If I were a beginner, I would consider "Relocate" to be
>> the proper operation because "Switch" is not specific enough.
>> "Relocate" is a very concrete word suggesting the expected operation
>> but not required very frequently. "Switch" is a very general term that
>> would not jump into my mind after re-structuring.
>
>
> Well, TSVN keeps the names of the CL client. And that means that
> 'switch' is used for restructuring, and 'relocate' for URL rewriting.
> (the CL client even uses 'switch --relocate' for the relocate command).

I know - but _that_ is the cause for the trouble with Relocate. With the
CL client you usually not use --relocate until you know what it is for.
In TSVN Relocate is on the same level as Switch but more expressive, so
people use it and take a trip to the sahara if they think the warning
doesn't apply to them.

>> 3. The warning dialog and the Relocate dialog might be swapped in
>> order, so the warning is presented before the harmless-looking
>> Relocate dialog.
>
> But that would freak people out, wouldn't it? I mean a warning before
> anything else?

Of course - if you install spyware-payed "free" software, you expect a
warning about this fact _before_ installation, not afterwards :-)

I mean: Why not a warning before anything else? Relocating is required
in very rare situations. The most repository location changes will
affect smaller projects or business LAN server connections, so a fresh
checkout may be the better approach for them instead of a Relocate.

A User clicking on "Relocate..." currently sees a harmless dialog. Only
if he really tries a relocation by clicking on OK he will see the
warning - I think that's too late. In this situation the user already
assumes that Relocate is the proper way of following a
branch/restructuring in the WC, so he feels puzzled instead of guided by
the warning.

I think this warning would be seen - and understood - by a lot more
people when they explore the TSVN features for their first time and try
each function (and, typically, ignoring the docs).

>> 4. Maybe SVN could change in a way that any applied 'Relocate' command
>> would automatically determine the correctness of the operation? Is
>> this possible at all? Couldn't the 'new' repository be contacted and
>> verified against the WC before updating the WC?
>
> That's up to Subversion, not TSVN.

Of course.

> I made some suggestions in the past
> about this, but the Subversion guys didn't see that as a high priority.

... since only a few would try "svn switch --relocate" before "svn
switch" on the CL, but a lot try "Relocate..." before "Switch..." in TSVN :)

>> The message box I would expect would be something like the following,
>> with better English of course:
>>
>> ====================================
>> = TortoiseSVN - Relocate Warning
>> ====================================
>> *ATTENTION:* The Relocate command is only used if the URL of the
>> repository root has changed due to a server IP address change,
>> protocol change (f.e., http:// to https://) or a change of the
>> repository root path in the server setup.\n
>> *This is a very infrequently used operation* and applies neither if
>> you want to move to another Subversion repository nor if you want to
>> switch to another branch or directory *within the same repository*.\n
>> To move to another Subversion repository, perform a clean checkout
>> from the new repository location.\n
>> To associate your working copy with another branch or another directory
>> within the same repository, use the Switch command below or from the
>> main menu.\n
>> \n
>> An inadequately used Relocate command *will corrupt your working
>> copy!* If you are unsure whether Relocate is the correct operation, it
>> probably is not and you should consult *Help* below.
>>
>> [Relocate] [Switch] [Cancel] [Help]
>> ===================================
>>
>> What do you think?
>
>
> Good idea. I'll change the dialog. But not today anymore ;)

But hopefully including the [Switch] button ;)

BTW: Now we have DEV discussions on the USERS list... :D - didn't we set
up TSVN_U to move traffic away from TSVN_D? ;)

- Matthias

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org

--
Received on Tue Oct 11 21:59:11 2005

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Users mailing list.