[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Enable reopen dialog after failure by default

From: Stefan Fuhrmann <stefanfuhrmann_at_alice-dsl.de>
Date: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 16:26:27 +0200

Hi Olaf,

I'm not saying "because I don't need it, nobody does".
There are certainly users like you that benefit from
this feature, which is why it has been added in the
first place.

Olaf van der Spek wrote:

> On Wed, Oct 14, 2009 at 1:34 PM, Stefan Fuhrmann
> <stefanfuhrmann_at_alice-dsl.de> wrote:
> > Olaf van der Spek wrote:
> >
> >> Could "reopen dialog after failure" be enabled by default? It's a
very
> >> handy setting.
> >
> > Whether it will be handy depends on what failure
> > modes are typical to your working style / environment.
> > E.g. I would not want the dialog to reopen, if failures
> > are usually caused by:
> >
> > * missing / failing network connection
>
> I don't think this one is an issue for most people. Don't you know
> beforehand whether you're online or off?

Actually, I don't. Some networks, I connect to automatically
(e.g. DSL) and they may be unavailable for short periods of
time (minutes) without me noticing. Others (e.g. GPRS/UMTS
while on train, some WLAN) will fail at ever so often.

A LAN-connected workstation will certainly hot have that
issue. That's what I meant with "working environment".

> > * issues that require fixing files, i.e. when I have
> > to switch to a different tool for some time
>
> Are those two the majority of cases for you?

The second case also comprises issues with conflicts,
selectively adding / removing folders, line endings,
case sensitivity and so on. So, whenever a commit fails
it gives me some pause to look deeper into why I made
that particular mistake. Retrying the commit afterwards
takes about 5 clicks.

Commits don't fail often for me even under the adverse
conditions I described. Less than 10% maybe.

However, there is a situation when TSVN could be more
supportive: Whenever the items I try to commit were
outdated. While this is a rare case for me, it will
hurt people that frequently restructure folders, do
merges or modify properties on folders and don't run
update before commit.

This is what TSVN could ideally do in that situation:

* detect that commit failed with "outdated" error code
* show "shall I run update now (Y/N)?" message box
* re-open commit dialog, iff update went smoothly.

IMHO, we could make *that* a non-optional behavior.

Would this address your issues or do you have an
entirely different use-case?

-- Stefan^2

------------------------------------------------------
http://tortoisesvn.tigris.org/ds/viewMessage.do?dsForumId=757&dsMessageId=2407562

To unsubscribe from this discussion, e-mail: [dev-unsubscribe_at_tortoisesvn.tigris.org].
Received on 2009-10-14 16:26:34 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.