[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

[PATCH] Re: "Revert" warnings

From: Tobias Schäfer <tobiasschaefer_at_gmx.de>
Date: 2006-01-22 14:49:10 CET

On Tuesday 10 January 2006 21:16, Jan Normann Nielsen wrote:
> Stefan Küng skrev:
> > Jan Normann Nielsen wrote:
> >> When reverting changes from a file, this message is presented:
> >>
> >> "Are you sure you want to revert? You will lose <b>all</b> changes
> >> since the last update!"
> >>
> >> This message is fine for most uses, but I don't think it makes sense
> >> if you're reverting a file that is missing from the file system.
> >>
> >> A removed file is often (in my case) not "a change" but a side-effect
> >> of some non-subversion aware tool or me renaming the file. The message
> >>
> >> "Are you sure you want to revert?"
> >>
> >> would be better in case of a missing file that is reverted.
> >
> > Sure, we could change the message in case of missing files. But is it
> > worth the effort? I mean the message still applies if only *one* of
> > all the files selected for reverting isn't missing but actually modified.
>
> Good point. Use Tobias' idea or disregard my previous mail.

I propose the following patch which implements my suggestion.

[[[
When reverting files/directories in the "commit" or "check for modifications"
dialog the confirmation now mentions the number of items about to be reverted.
]]]

Tobias

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org

Received on Sun Jan 22 14:53:13 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.