[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: [TSVN] Rename in repository and filenames with spaces

From: Simon Large <slarge_at_blazepoint.co.uk>
Date: 2004-08-04 18:11:16 CEST

>> Sorry. I thought I had tried that, but evidently not. Checked it
>> again and it works exactly as you say. It would be useful if the
>> error message suggested the corrective action.
> TSVN in HEAD already does give you a hint.
Don't understand this comment. It does not seem that intuitive:
If I modify and commit a file in the trunk root folder, I can tag straight
away.
If I modify and commit a file in a sub-folder of the trunk, I have to update
before I can tag. Why?

>> The "Get All" button does not appear to be documented in the helpfile
> Want to provide a patch for the docs?
I'm happy to contribute if I can. The TSVN repository does not contain the
'tools' folder which is mentioned in the ReadMe file, so I can't build the
target files. I can make text-only changes and produce a patch file and log
message for the XML source file if someone else is happy to check the
result.

>> Are you saying that in V1.1.x it will be safe to rename/relocate the
>> root folder (even if it is un-necessary)?
> No, not the root folder. But you can then safely rename every other
> folder and still be able to do diffs/merges/tags/... on older revisions
> where the target has a different name.
> The root folder is somewhat special: it's like an anchor for the working
> copy.
But I can still use "relocate" to re-anchor to the renamed root folder,
can't I? The particular issue that worries me is that if I do rename the
root folder in the repository, then (at present) I cannot extract previous
revisions. The data may still be in the repository, but if I can't extract
it, then it is effectively lost. I don't _want_ to rename root folders, but
I would like to know if I can recover from it if it happens by mistake.

BTW. There is a very minor buglet in the commit dialog. If I opt _not_ to
delete previous comments _and_ I have a minimum comment size enabled, after
cancelling and re-starting a commit I get the previous comments back, but
the "OK" button is disabled until I edit the recalled comment.

Simon

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@tortoisesvn.tigris.org
Received on Thu Aug 5 18:46:56 2004

This is an archived mail posted to the TortoiseSVN Dev mailing list.