[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

[Subclipse-dev] [PATCH] conflict view update after save

From: Paul Lorenz <plorenz_at_gmail.com>
Date: 2006-01-27 17:44:23 CET

Hi All,
  Trying to learn the subclipse way of doing merges. I have three
problems so far, and a fix for one of them.

The first is when you are actually doing Edit Conflicts using the
built in editor, the diff state isn't recalculated after doing a save.
Also, the copy current change stops working after the save. I fixed
this, usually a similar method that the CVS plugin uses, by having a
subclass of DiffNode which we have the differencer use, and then
calling fireChanges on that in the save. Patch is attached.

Please let me know if the patch looks acceptable, or if it needs work,
or if it's working as expected, and I'm just missing something.

    The second is that after doing a merge, the only way I can see to
find the files with conflicts is to look in the SVN Console. It would
be nice if these showed up in the Conflicts view in the synchronize
view. I'll take a look at this, though it may be more difficult :)

The last thing is when reverting a merge, I'm still running into
problems. I get an error that a given file isn't under version
control.

revert -N /home/paul/workspace/foo-dev-svn/lib-dev/resin-3.0.14/.cvsignore
    svn: '/home/paul/workspace/foo-dev-svn/lib-dev/resin-3.0.14/.cvsignore'
is not under version control

This kills the revert. Is it because the file is called .cvsignore? If
I retry the revert, I get the same error, but on a different file (not
a .cvsignore file). I would think revert should either ignore or
delete file that aren't in repository.

Even if that error is fixed, it's still a pain to use revert. What
happens is that I'm left with a bunch of additions. I then delete
everything in my synchronize view. However this includes a bunch of
folders which have files in them other than the added ones. So then I
have to revert that set of deletions. So I have to revert, delete,
revert to clear out the merge. I saw there is an override and update
option. However it is only configured to work in the Conflicts view. I
patched it to show up for outgoing, but it didn't delete my added
files either. Suggestions? Can I patch override and update to do the
added file deletion? Or add a different option which does the same
thing?

thanks,
Paul Lorenz

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subclipse.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subclipse.tigris.org

Received on Fri Jan 27 17:49:51 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subclipse Dev mailing list.