[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Revert semantics after a merge in working copy

From: Leonardo Fernandes <leonardo.fernandes_at_outsystems.com>
Date: Tue, 29 Apr 2008 11:51:31 +0100

Hi.

After merging some changes in a working copy, we sometimes need to redo
the merge, or just delay the merge, in some files. Our first instinct is
to revert the single file, and repeat the merge. But it doesn't work as
expected, because of the ancestry lookup for mergeinfo.

That's ok, and I know there exists an option to ignore the ancestry,
which is what we do right now. My only question is, shouldn't the revert
record the merge was reverted in those files? Because the current
semantics are the same as "accept mine as merge result", which is a bit
confusing.

 

Thanks,

Leonardo Fernandes
Received on 2008-04-29 12:51:48 CEST

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.