[svn.haxx.se] · SVN Dev · SVN Users · SVN Org · TSVN Dev · TSVN Users · Subclipse Dev · Subclipse Users · this month's index

Re: Possible bug delete and revert

From: Ben Collins-Sussman <sussman_at_red-bean.com>
Date: 2006-12-18 17:23:27 CET

I don't understand. The definition of 'svn revert' is 'please make
this file exactly the way it does in the repository'. It not only
reverts file contents, but reverts delete scheduling. That's what you
asked for, and that's what you got. It's one of the only commands
that actually destroys information, so you need to be careful with it.

On 12/18/06, Žiga Osolin <ziga.osolin@gimb.org> wrote:
> I deleted some files, then I placed new files (the same name upon them)
> and then I said revert, and SVN has overwritten the files. I think SVN
> should check if files exist before rewriting with the files last commited.
>
> Regards,
> Žiga
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
>
>

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@subversion.tigris.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@subversion.tigris.org
Received on Mon Dec 18 17:23:45 2006

This is an archived mail posted to the Subversion Dev mailing list.